Book Review: Stardust ☆☆☆☆

519wepuhq6l-_sx348_bo1204203200_When I read The Ocean at the End of the Lane I was left in a state of contemplative melancholy that took days to shake off. Which might sound negative, but I love that book. I mention it to point out that by comparison Stardust left me with a feeling of light whimsy. Both have their places, and I enjoyed both books immensely.

Stardust has Gaiman’s unique something, but at the same time it is in many ways a more traditional fantasy. The youth we follow on his quest is likable and an all around good guy, if a bit naive. There are faeries, a living star, witches, princes fighting over a throne, magic, and a lion fighting a unicorn. Among other cool things.

For some reason I kept feeling that this was a YA novel even though I’m not entirely sure it was meant to be. Now generally this is the kiss of death for me. I’m not a teenager. I haven’t been for a long time. So reading about teenage angst, love triangles, and in general stupid, self-centered choices leaves me unsatisfied. Stardust wasn’t like that at all thankfully. When I say it felt YA I mean it felt YA like The Hobbit feels YA. And for me at least The Hobbit is the greatest compliment I can give a YA book.

My Rating: ☆☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

