Christmas Book Haul!

 

So every year when I’m asked what I want for Christmas I say I want something practical, and inexpensive. Something like socks, a belt, undershirts.. that kind of thing. Actually, I say that I don’t want anything, and when that fails I go with practical, and inexpensive.

I’m good with this for a couple of reasons. First, because I’m broke, and the odds are good that I didn’t get you anything. It is what it is so don’t get me anything, or if you do keep it small. Second, I’m a simple, practical guy. A bag of socks means I don’t have to buy socks this year, and now I won’t have to do laundry for at least a week.

Of course every year a few people, usually women, find this arrangement unacceptable. I think the problem is that they do laundry regularly themselves, and so don’t appreciate my appreciation of new socks. Regardless when this happens I ask for a book. Books are something I always want, and even if bought new are fairly inexpensive as presents go.

These were my Christmas books this year:

 

 

 

 

All of these are books I’ve wanted to read for a while, and don’t own. I haven’t been able to find them at my local used bookstores, and now I have them new! I finished reading The Slow Regard of Silent Things, and the rest will be on the very top of my to be read list for 2017.

I’m very excited to continue the Broken Earth series by N.K. Jemisin. I loved The Fifth Season, and I’ve heard that if anything The Obelisk Gate is even better. I want to save it as a treat so I’ll probably read it last. I know that might be backward, but my not reading it right away is a weird compliment to Jemisin. Besides the longer I wait now the less time I’ll have to wait between books two and three.

I’ve just started Among Others by Jo Walton, and so far it is good. It came highly recommended, and is my first read of Walton’s. If it is as good as I’ve heard I’ll have a new author to check out.

I always love Neil Gaiman’s works, and Stardust should be his last adult novel I’ve yet to read. Well, until his new novel, Norse Mythology, comes out in 2017. I would save this for a rainy day as with The Obelisk Gate, but I doubt I’ll be able to help myself.

Finally, I’ve been meaning to read Stephen King’s Dark Tower series for years. There are just so many books I want to read, and I have heard mixed reviews on it. People seem to either love it or hate it. With the series coming to tv I decided to give it a read and find out for myself. I’m hopeful.

I hope everyone else out there got a stack of books they can read this year as well. Happy New Year Everyone!

Leave a Reply

