Book Review: The Slow Regard of Silent Things ☆☆☆☆

21535271This was one of the books I requested as a gift for Christmas this year, and I was thrilled to get it! At less than 200 pages, my paperback edition was 176, it was a quick read. I would have easily finished this in one sitting if given the time, but said time is a luxury my 3 year old would never allow!

I should start off saying that you do not want to read this story without having first read The Name of the Wind. You need to do this in order to give this story context. Otherwise this is going to be a dull, and frustrating read. Rothfuss himself says as much in his forward, and then again in greater detail in his afterword.

I should also say that this is not your traditional story. Again Rothfuss mentions this in his forward. I would post that here and be done with it, but I don’t have my copy of the book handy. Just know that there isn’t much in the way of plot, or a traditional ending. There also isn’t any real dialogue, or action. In the now repeatedly mentioned forward, or was it the afterword, it says there isn’t any conflict, but I disagree. The conflict is internal. Keeping that in mind I can definitely recommend this book to everyone who enjoyed Name of the Wind.

This is a story about Auri, one of the characters in the aforementioned book. It is glimpse into her life, thoughts, and unique perspective. It is a fleeting glance, and bittersweet. There is so much selflessness, love, and innocence in Auri, and at the same time so much pain, and loneliness. She is very much a damaged person; and yet beautiful. In her own way she is perfect.

I wish I knew exactly what happened to her. Whatever it was it has left her scarred, and her mind has retreated into her inner child. I wish I could have prevented this, and she could have taken her place in the world above. I wish I could help her. Failing that I wish could hold her in my arms and comfort her as I would my own child.

I can’t. Wishes are for stars. I do hope she will be alright in the final book to come. Beyond that even, in all the days of her life that pass long after Rothfuss pens his last word in this series, and our window into this world is shuttered forever.

 

My Rating: ☆☆☆☆

EDIT – I found that forward on Goodreads.

You might not want to buy this book.

I know, that’s not the sort of thing an author is supposed to say. The marketing people aren’t going to like this. My editor is going to have a fit. But I’d rather be honest with you right out of the gate.

First, if you haven’t read my other books, you don’t want to start here.

My first two books are The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear. If you’re curious to try my writing, start there. They’re the best introduction to my world. This book deals with Auri, one of the characters from that series. Without the context of those books, you’re probably going to feel pretty lost.

Second, even if you have read my other books, I think it’s only fair to warn you that this is a bit of a strange story. I don’t go in for spoilers, but suffice to say that this one is … different. It doesn’t do a lot of the things a classic story is supposed to do. And if you’re looking for a continuation of Kvothe’s storyline, you’re not going to find it here.

On the other hand, if you’d like to learn more about Auri, this story has a lot to offer. If you love words and mysteries and secrets. If you’re curious about the Underthing and alchemy. If you want to know more about the hidden turnings of my world…

Well, then this book might be for you.

Leave a Reply

