Book Review: Neverwhere ☆☆☆☆☆

51io310opcl-_sx307_bo1204203200_I loved this book, as I have loved all Neil Gaiman’s books. This one might be my favorite of the ones I’ve read so far. It is different than American Gods, Anansi Boys, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane. For starters it didn’t have the heavy mythology/folklore that those books did. Its tone was also lighter than they were. Possibly as a direct result. Which isn’t to say there weren’t dark moments of course.

Neverwhere definitely felt more like a traditional fantasy than the previously mentioned novels. Of course it was still a Gaiman. Which I suppose is saying that while it was more familiar it was still nothing like traditional fantasy! Not a helpful I know.

There was a blurb on the cover crediting this with being a modern Alice in Wonderland which I feel is a better description than any I could give: “A dark contemporary ‘Alice in Wonderland’ … Imaginative, well-crafted [and] highly visual.” – Minneapolis Star Tribune.

My Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

