Book Review: The Great Book of Amber ☆☆☆☆

51zeepnspsl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

 I recently reread The Chronicles of Amber, and it is by far one of my favorite fantasy/scifi series. It details the magical world of Amber, and the infinite variations which extend from Amber. The further away the variation the more different the world, such as Earth.

This edition contains the complete series in one volume. As the series begins the royal family are either dead, missing, or actively trying to kill each other to take the throne. They plot, betrayal, duel, raise armies, torture, maim, and kill one another. During all this a looming darkness threatens their world, and so every other! That’s just the first five books.

There is a whole other plot for the next five, but to talk about it would spoil the first five as it builds upon that story line. It is obvious there would likely have been at least five more books wrapping up this epic, but sadly Zelazny died before penning them.

The pace is fast throughout the series never bogging down. I loved the magic of this series. Trumps, and Shadow captivated me as much now as it did the first time I read it. In addition to the fantasy elements there are science fiction, and mystery elements to the story that I quite enjoyed.

There are a few things that were painfully obvious to me during this reread. Zelazny does recap quite a lot, and basically connects all the dots for you instead of letting you get there on your own. There is also a good bit of the ‘As You Know Watson’ info dumping that is so common in older/classic SciFi. Finally, while I enjoyed many of the characters they are relatively two dimensional, and often basically the same.

That being said I will end as I started by repeating I love this series! I recommend  it to anyone who loves Fantasy, SciFi, alternate worlds etc.

My Rating: ☆☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

