Book Review: The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry ☆☆☆☆☆

91hvgvo-tlI just read The Storied of A.J. Fikry a few days ago, and I can’t think of a better book to be my first review. I found it to be an enjoyable read. The overall tone was light, and funny with some more serious, and even sad points.

It follows the life of A.J. Fikry. He is a grumpy old man who shouldn’t be quite so grumpy as he isn’t really that old. Basically a kindred spirit whom I identified with!

A.J. is an independent bookstore owner whose life isn’t in a great place having suffered a loss. Of course as these things go it is about to get even more complicated, and wonderful! I want to talk more about some of the personal developments he goes through as some, not all, mirror recent changes on my own life, but that would lead to spoilers.

I will say that pretty much every review said this was a book for book lovers, and they were absolutely correct. The book has a good story, but it’s heart and soul are the bookstore, books, and the people who read them. If you are here reading this you will love The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry. I highly recommend it.

My Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

